Wits Vuvuzela boot camp: not for the faint hearted

By Rafieka Williams

It’s 8:32am on a Monday morning. I am two minutes late for the first day of boot camp. As I step in, I squeal out an apologetic murmur, thinking that it would suffice for a measly two minutes. Surely they’ll go easy on us, it’s only the first day, or so I thought…

Jo-anne Richardson, our lecturer for that day, was not so lenient. Immediately she singled me out for my late coming. Her icy glare darted directly at me from across the room and shot me down. It was at that moment that I knew that this course was not going to be a walk in the park.

The next two weeks was followed by intense intake of knowledge – journalism¬†101. The do’s and don’ts, the hows, whens, whys, for what purpose, for who’s, these were all established in two weeks.

Following those two weeks, we were immediately put to work running the Wits Vuvuzela. And although the Vuvuzela is a campus newspaper, it’s run the same as any good newspaper, with pitches and deadlines.

My hope for this journey is that at the end, when I graduate, I will have all the tools to not only be a good journalist but one that has an impact on the current system of injustice and inequality. I want to break the boundaries and show that marginalized voices count in every way.

I can say that it has been an exciting experience and the journey thus far has been a thrilling one and I know that it can only get better from here on out…

STILL HAPPY: taking things one day at a time at the Wits Journalism department. Photo: Yagazie Emezi
STILL HAPPY: Rafieka Williams is taking things one day at a time at the Wits Journalism department. Photo: Yagazie Emezi

 

Leave a Reply

